
 

 

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION OF A PUBLIC VESSEL 
 

Name of Public Vessel Operation 

Name and Address of Owner Winter Address of Owner 

Street Address Street Address 

City, State Zip City, State Zip 

Phone Number Phone Number 

Fax Number Fax Number 

Website Email Address 

 

What bodies of water are you operating on? Location of your boat for the inspection 

Type of Service: [ ] Passenger [ ] Dining [ ] Mail 

 
[   ] Skiing  [   ] Fishing  [  ] Other  _ 

Vessel Name 

The manufacturer of a boat 20 feet and less is required to affix 
a capacity plate to each vessel they produce. Many 
manufacturers over 20 feet will affix the same type of plate. 

 
The capacity place looks like this: 

 
 

If your boat has a capacity plate, fill in the blanks below. 

persons or  _lbs. 

   lbs. persons, motor, gear 
 

   H. P. motor 

Registration Number Vessel Manufacturer 

Hull Number (12 Characters) Hull Material: [ ] Wood 
[ ] Steel [ ] Aluminum 
[ ] Fiberglass [ ]Other, explain 

Engine Manufacturer 

Color Year Built 

No. of Engines Length 

ft. 
Weight 

lbs. 

Engine 
No. 1 

Horsepower Engine No. 2 Horsepower 

Fuel: [ ] Steam [ ] Gas 

 
[ ] Diesel [ ] Electric 

Fuel Tank Capacity 

Fuel Tank Material 

[ ] Plastic or [ ] Metal 

If Twin Tanks: 
Port::  Gals Stbd:  _Gals 

Type of Propulsion 
[ ] Outboard [  ] Jet Pump [ ]Sail Auxiliary 

 

[ ] Inboard [ ]I/O [ ] Paddle Wheel 

 
New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation 

Marine Services Bureau 

Albany NY 12238 



Remarks:     

 

 

 

 
 

I hereby apply for a certificate of Inspection to operate the public vessel described above. I certify that I am 
familiar with the provisions of the New York State Navigation Law, that I consider my vessel to be safe in 
every respect and that the foregoing information is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. 

 
 

Date Signature of Owner 
 
 

INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS 
 

The Marine Services Bureau cannot schedule an inspection 
of this boat until this form is received. Please send the 
completed form ASAP so that you can be placed in the 
inspection schedule. 

 

1. Complete all applicable sections of this form and be 
sure it is signed by the owner. 

 

2. Mail the application to: 
New York State Office of Parks 
Marine Services Bureau 
Albany, NY 12238 

 
3. Do not send any money with this application. Fees 

will be collected on the day of inspection. 
 

4. Notification of date, place and approximate time of 
inspection will be sent to the public vessel owner. 

 
 

 
 
 

 

- NOTICE - 
 

USE ONLY COAST GUARD APPROVED EQUIPMENT 

 
 

Avoid costly mistakes and purchase the CORRECT type of equipment. 
Contact the Marine Services Unit at (518)474-0445 if you have any questions 

Initials   Date  _ 

For Office Use Only: 
 

Capacity Granted persons 

HOW MANY PEOPLE WILL MY BOAT BE ABLE TO CARRY? 

 
NYS Parks uses 174 lbs per person. 

 
To figure the number of persons your boat can carry you 
need to divide the total weight capacity on the capacity 
plate by 174lbs and round down.  This will be your 
maximum capacity unless it exceeds the max person 
capacity on the plate. If the number exceeds the person 
capacity on the plate we will use the lower number.  

 
Example from the plate on the front of this application: 

7 persons or 1050lbs 

1050/174 =  6.03 persons 
 

This office will round down this number to 6 persons for 
safety purposes. 

 
This boat would be rated at 1 operator and 5 
passengers. 


