

Andrew M. Cuomo Governor

Rose Harvey Commissioner

Dear Prospective Instructor,

Thank you for your interest in becoming an instructor with the New York Safe Boating Program. The course was originally established in 1959 as the "Make Sure Make Shore" Young Boater's Safety Program to teach youthful operators. In 2000 with the passage of mandatory education for personal watercraft operators, it was expanded to include adults and renamed New York Safe Boating Program. The course consists of 8 hours of classroom instruction with a 50 question closed book proctored exam.

The attached notice outlines the requirements that must be met to become a certified instructor.

To begin the certification process, complete the Instructor Application and have it notarized. Attach a copy of your New York State Safe Boating Certificate (temporary certificates are acceptable), a copy of your driver's license (or other government issued identification showing proof of age), and teaching certification/credentials.

Please note that only a NYS Parks New York Safe Boating Certificate from a classroom course is accepted for the educational requirement. Online certificates are NOT accepted. We recognize that you may have earned a boating safety certificate from the U.S. Power Squadron, or U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, or hold a U.S. Coast Guard License, but we specifically require that all of our prospective instructors have attended a classroom course and received a NYS Parks issued New York Safe Boating Certificate. Courses can be found at

http://nysparks.com/recreation/boating/safety-courses.aspx

Upon acceptance of your completed application and a background check conducted by NYS Parks, you will receive by email the schedule for the "Introduction to the New York Safe Boating Course". The 3 hour seminar on policy, procedures, and paperwork is offered once a month and on request in Albany and occasionally in other areas of the state. You will be notified by email when additional courses are scheduled.

If you have any questions related to the program or certification process please contact the Marine Service Bureau at 518-474-0445.

Sincerely,

Marine Services Bureau

## Instructor Certification Process Notice (9NYCRR Section 451.10)

In order to become a New York State Certified Instructor the applicant must provide all requested information on the Instructor Application provided by NYS Office of Parks, Recreation, and Historic Preservation (OPRHP). An applicant must demonstrate to the agency's satisfaction that he or she is:

- (1) 18 years of age or older;
- (2) Of sound mind and good moral character;
- (3) In possession of a New York Safe Boating Certificate or a graduate of the New York State Marine Law Enforcement Course. *Note: The New York Safe Boating Certificate is a very specific requirement for certification to teach the New York Safe Boating Course. USCG Auxiliary, US Power Squadron, USCG Licenses or any other forms of boating safety education are not accepted.*
- (4) Trained as an instructor and competent to teach the course as determined by the agency. In determining competency the agency may accept one or more of the following documents:
  - (i) A certified written recommendation from the supervising certified instructor on a form provided by the agency. This recommendation must indicate the applicant has assisted in teaching classes to the supervising instructor's satisfaction during at least four courses and as outlined in the New York Safe Boating Instruction Guide;
  - (ii) Copy of a teaching license issued by the New York Board of Regents or equivalent teaching license issued by another state or province;
  - (iii) Copy of an instructor development certification or other evidence of police officer, peace officer, firefighter or emergency medical personnel instructor training;
  - (iv) Copy of current instructor certification issued by the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary or the United States Power Squadron;
  - (v) Any other evidence acceptable to the agency that demonstrates to the agency's satisfaction the applicant has equivalent instructor training.
- (5) Attend a three hour seminar entitled "Introduction to the New York Safe Boating Safety Course" which will be given upon request at least once a month at the Marine Services Bureau office in Albany and at other times throughout the state as scheduled by Marines Services;
- (6) Be familiar with safe boating practices and the Navigation Law and demonstrates that knowledge by passing an examination that may be written or oral at the discretion of the agency. A written exam is given at the conclusion of the three hour seminar.



## New York Safe Boating Instructor Application

Name:	1						
Date	of Birth:						
Addres	ss:						
Day Phone:				_ Cell Phone:			
Evenin	g Phone:			_			
Fax:				_			
Email:							
						— . — . — . —	
I am ap	. , .	teach as a:					
		er Instructor	Llasta atau				
$\vdash$		ıal Commercia					
Ш	Affiliate		f a Commercial	_			
		Organiz	zation:			-	
-			-	een convicted of a viol ude you from instructo			
	· · ·	this agency.)	necessarily preci	ade you from mstracto	" □	No 🗌	Yes
				ving information:			•
		• • • • • •		were convicted and o	date(s) of t	he convict	tions
	. (attacii a 		L of paper if file	re space is needed)			
Are you	u currently	on parole or pr	obation? If Yes, p	olease explain:		☐ No	Yes
Are you currently awaiting trial on any criminal charge? If Yes, please explain:						Yes	
Are you	u currently	on deferred adj	judication? If Yes	, please explain:		No No	Yes
Applica	ınt's Name	:			Date:		

Applicant's Nam	ie:						
my instructor apmet prior to met prior to mestatements madeonnection with any and all pulmisstatement or	oplication. I recognize the population of the control of the contr	at the requirements set fon being issued. I affirm are true. I understand the ect to investigation and veries accuracy of information on may disqualify me from	on and Historic Preservation review rth in 9 NYCRR Part 451.10 must be under penalty of perjury that all nat all statements made by me in ification which may include checking provided. An omission, material instructor certification and/or lead				
Applicant's Signa	ature:		Date:				
	ACKNO	WLEDGEMENT					
STATE OF NEW Y	ORK .						
COUNTY OF							
personally appeathe basis of satis instrument and a and that by his/l	ared factory evidence to be the acknowledged to me that	, personally ne individual(s) whose name the he/she/they executed the the instrument, the individual.	before me, the undersigned, known to me or proved to me on e(s) is (are) subscribed to the within same in his/her/their capacity (ies), ual(s), or the person upon behalf of				
Enclosed i	s copy of my Driver's Lice	nse or other government-is	icate from a classroom course				
	s documentation on my c	•					
I plan to a	I plan to assist a certified instructor with 4 courses after completing the INYSBC						