

Reporting Accidents

In the event of an accident, contact: NYS Park Police – 845-786-2781 or 911

To report a problem on the trail, contact: Welch Beach Office – 845-947-2444
Tiorati Office – 845-429-8257

Snowmobiling While Intoxicated

New York State takes a "zero tolerance" stance against snowmobiling white under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Refusal to submit to a chemical test will result in the automatic suspension of operating privileges and a \$250 fine. Penalties for operating a snowmobile while intoxicated range from a minimum \$250 fine or 15 days in jail for snowmobiling while impaired, to maximum penalty of a \$5,000 fine and one year in jail.

Alcohol is not permitted in the park.



Cross Country Skiing?

There are cross country ski trails that leave from the Sebago Boat Launch parking lot and Anthony Wayne Recreation Area, South Lot. There is no cross country skiing allowed at Welch Beach while the Snowmobile trail is open.

For more information about the parks, please download the NY State Parks Explorer app from the Apple App Store or Google Play Store:





New York State Rules & Regulations



SNOWMOBILING

AT

Welch Beach - Harriman State Park (845) 947-2444





NYS Office of Parks, Recreation & Historic Preservation

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

NYS Rules and Regulations

The efficient use of snowmobiles can minimize their environment impact, their operation costs, and their effect on our available fuel resources. Recognizing this goal, New York State Legislature has appointed the Office of Parks, Recreation, and Historic Preservation (OPRHP) to promote the safe and proper use of snowmobiles in this state. This pamphlet summarizes the requirements of the law, rules, and regulations which effect private snowmobile owners and operators.

Registration

Each snowmobile operated in New York State must be properly registered, unless it is used only on its owner's property. A snow mobile owned by a non-resident and operated in New York State must be registered in New York State even if it is registered elsewhere. Non-resident operators are not required to register their snowmobile in New York State if they operate only on border trails which occasionally cross into New York and return to the State where the snowmobile is registered. The NYS OPRHP designates and maintains a listing of the border trails.

You may obtain a snowmobile registration at any local NYS DMV issuing office or any NYS registered snowmobile dealer who participates in the state prepaid registration program. To register a snowmobile you must:

- 1. Fill out a snowmobile application (MS-82SN) completely and sign it on page 2, box #4.
- 2. Submit proof of ownership, and proof of sales tax clearance. Non-residents may submit photocopies of the out-of-state proof of ownership (generally an out-of-state registration certificate.) No sales tax is due on snowmobiles already registered out-of-state.

- 3. Pay a fee for a one year registration if you are a non-resident. Checks or money orders should be made payable to **Commissioner of Motor Vehicles**.
- 4. Show proof of your identity and date of birth (e.g. drivers license.)

To apply by Mail or to obtain more information, write to:

NYS Department of Motor Vehicles, Snowmobile Unit 224 So. Pearl Street Albany, NY 12202

Or on the web: www.dmv.ny.gov

Required Equipment

All snowmobiles in the State of New York must be equipped with:

- At least one white or amber headlight of sufficient intensity to reveal persons and vehicles at a distance of at least 100 feet in darkness under normal atmospheric conditions.
- At least one red tail light of sufficient intensity to be plainly visible at a distance of 500 feet.
- A brake system in good mechanical condition. Reflective material (at least 16 square inches) on each side of the cowling.
- An adequate muffler in good working condition.

No snowmobile manufactured after June 1, 1980 may be sold or offered for sale in New York State unless its sound level emission is no more than 73 d/b-A and it is approved by OPRHP.

Recommended Equipment (Optional)

Tools

- Screwdrivers
- The most common sizes of wrenches for your machine
- Pliers
- Wire cutters
- Spark plug wrench
- Duct tape
- Strong wire

*A multi-purpose tool covers several of these tools by itself.

Clothing

- A helmet that fits properly
- Comfortable fog-free goggles (if helmet does not have face shield)
- Flexible, waterproof, warm gloves or mittens
- Insulated, waterproof boots

Emergency Items

- Area map
- GPS unit
- Waterproof matches/lighter and candle to melt snow for water
- Flares
- Flashlight
- Whistle
- Signaling mirror
- First-aid Kit
- Space blanket
- Tow strap
- Rope
- Knife
- Multi-purpose tool
- Snowshoes
- Extra gloves
- Warm hats
- Bottled water
- High-energy food
- Shovel
- Cellular phone

Operation

It is **illegal** to operate a snowmobile:

- 1. At a rate of speed greater than reasonable or proper under the surrounding circumstances.
- 2. In a careless, reckless, or negligent manner.
- 3. Under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- 4. Without at least one lighted white or amber headlight and lighted red taillight between sunset and sunrise or when required for safety.
- 5. On the tracks of an operating railroad.
- 6. In any tree nursery or planting.
- 7. On private property, without the consent of owner or lessee.
- 8. When towing a person on skis or in a sleigh or sled across a public highway.
- 9. When towing a sleigh, sled or toboggan, unless it's attached by a rigid support, connection, or tow bar.
- 10. Within 100 feet of a dwelling, during the hours between midnight and 6:00 AM.
- 11. Any faster than minimum speed to maintain a forward movement when on frozen surface of public waters and within 100 feet of a skater, ice shanty, or ice fishermen.
- 12. On the NYS Thruway, interstate highways or limited access state highways except in case of emergency, and then only permitted by the controlling agency.

