location. Please contact the Park Office for more information.		
ELYING LOCATIONS: Bethpage State Park - (516) 249-0700 (Permit Valid from 2/1/25 – 1/31/26) *Polo Field will be <u>CLOSED</u> from 8/1/25 – 10/31/25*	<u>FEES:</u> Permit Fee: \$40.00 each	
Heckscher State Park - (631) 581-2100 (Permit Valid from 3/1/25 - 2/28/26)	Permit Fee: \$40.00 each	
Nissequogue River State Park - (631) 269-4927 (Permit Valid from 4/1/25 – 3/31/26)	Permit Fee: \$40.00 each	
Model Airplane will be used for hobby purposes on regulations set forth by New York State. All permit Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) guidelines	holders must review and comply with	
Flying Location:Email:		
Name:		
Address:		
City:		
Phone: AMA #:		
Signature: X		

Must provide proof of Academy of Model Aeronautics (AMA) Card to purchase

*******For Office Use Only******		
Date of Sale:		
Permit #:		
Paid by: 🗌 Cash 🛛 Credit 🗌 Check #		
lssuer:		

New York State Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation

2025 Model Airplane Permit Application *Permits go ON SALE January 31, 2025, and are valid until listed Expiration Date*

2025 Pormits are ONLV available for purchase at the Park Office of each flying

LONG ISLAND STATE PARK REGION



LONG ISLAND REGION

RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR MODEL AIRPLANE FLYING

SPECIAL CONDITIONS

- 1. All aircraft must be registered and externally marked with the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) identification number prior to flying www.faa.gov/uas.
- 2. Permittee must complete of the Aeronautical Knowledge and Safety Test, which is required by the FAA, by visiting https://trust.modelaircraft.org/.
- 3. There must be at least one permittee and one spotter when flying model airplanes, no exceptions.
- 4. Maximum of three aircraft aloft at any one time.
- 5. Permit is non-transferable and is valid only for individual covered by insurance provided. (Immediate family members may observe, but may not participate in flying activities)
- 6. Permit is valid for practice sessions only. Flying exhibitions, demonstrations and/or public events are prohibited except by Long Island State Park Region Park Use Permit.
- 7. Driving or parking of vehicles on park service roads and/or golf course areas is prohibited. Must Park in the designated area.
- 8. Permittee is required to provide a copy of \$500,000 General Public Liability Insurance Certificate naming the following:

<u>Additionally Insured</u>: The People of the State of New York, the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation, the Long Island State Park Recreation and Historic Preservation Commission, their commissioners, officers, agents, and employees. (Insurance covering all members of a flying club is acceptable, along with a current roster)

- 9. The Long Island State Park Region must have a current roster of all club members.
- 10. The Long Island Park Region reserves the right to revoke a permit for failure to follow all safety and field rules.
- 11. No flying of an aircraft in an unsafe or dangerous condition or with a defective radio system is permitted.
- 12. No flying is permitted while maintenance is being performed by NYS Parks in the flying area.
- 13. Adherence to Academy of Model Aeronautics Safety Code and FAA regulations is mandatory.
- 14. All rubbish and debris must be disposed of in a proper fashion before leaving the park.
- 15. No artificial smoke or chemical devices may be used that will interfere with the natural environment of the park.
- 16. No excessive engine running on the field.
- 17. Alcoholic beverages are not permitted at any time.
- 18. Maximum decibel level is 90DB at nine feet measured one foot from the ground.
- 19. All flyers of gasoline powered aircraft must have a fire extinguisher on the field.
- 20. Flying is permitted during daylight hours and only when the park is open.
- 21. Permittee must make sure no one is flying on their frequency before turning on their transmitter.
- 22. Right of way must be given to low flying full size aircraft.
- 23. If field is in demand, flying time must be limited to 15 minutes per flight.
- 24. Permittee must inspect aircraft and radio before each flight.
- 25. Permittee must range check all transmitters before starting aircraft engine.

BETHPAGE STATE PARK - Park Office #: (516) 249-0700

NOTICE: Flying at Bethpage State Park is within the Class D airspace of Republic Airport. Permittees must review and comply with the requirements set forth by the FAA – www.faa.gov/uas.

- 1. NO FLYING OVER 200 FEET ABOVE GROUND LEVEL (FAA requirement)
- 2. Permittee is required to comply with all rules posted at the field.
- 3. Permittee must obtain permission to operate model aircraft using the Federal Aviation Administration LAANC System <u>prior</u> to flying if not a member of the Whitman Flyers and show proof of permission upon request.
- 4. Permittee must show proof of completion of the Aeronautical Knowledge and Safety Test required by the FAA (when test has been issued).
- 5. Permittee is required to keep all aircraft and field boxes behind the barrier in the pit area.
- 6. Maximum of four aircraft aloft is permitted at any one time.
- 7. Landings and takeoffs must be made 50 feet in front of the flight line.
- 8. Flyers must stand 20 feet apart at the flags when flying.
- 9. No takeoffs are permitted over the flight line or toward the golf course behind the flight line.
- 10. All flying must be done in front of the flight line within the perimeter of the Polo Field.
- 11. All flyers must fly in oval patterns in one direction.
- 12. Landings are permitted from each end of the field, or diagonally from the corners depending on the wind conditions.
- 13. Flights cannot cross pit area when landing.
- 14. Permit is valid only when field is not in use for other purposes and when polo is not in session.
- 15. In the event a plane is lost in the trees, permittee must advise a Park Operations Supervisor. Permission from the Supervisor must be obtained prior to driving to areas outside the Polo Field, climbing trees, cutting limbs, etc. Please call (516) 249-0700.
- 16. No combat flying is permitted.

HECKSCHER STATE PARK - Park Office #: (631) 581-2100

- 1. Field 1 ball field March 1, 2025, to September 5, 2025, from 7am to 5pm (electric planes only); Field 8 parking lot (east) September 6, 2025, to February 28, 2026.
- 2. After take-off, your initial turn will be away from the pit area until you have reached a safe altitude of 20 -30 feet.
- 3. Flying is not permitted over roadway, near facility building or west of pit area.
- 4. Flyers must suspend flying upon the entry of pedestrians/bicyclists in the fly zone.
- 5. No vehicles permitted past line of pit area
- 6. Flights cannot cross pit area when landing
- 7. Permittee must report all emergencies, accidents, or unusual circumstances to the park police at 631-321-3700.
- 8. Maximum of 3 aircraft aloft are permitted at one time.
- 9. In the event a plane is lost in the trees, permittee must contact the park office 631-581-2100 and report it. Permission must be granted by the park supervisor or management to retrieve plane.
- 10. Flying Field will not be available on August 16th due to a scheduled special event.

NISSEQUOGUE RIVER STATE PARK – Park Office #: (631) 269-4927

- 1. Flying of planes must remain in area between Kings Park Boulevard and Old Dock Road.
- 2. In an event of a plane being lost in either trees or over hospital buildings, permittee must notify a Park Supervisor for retrieval.