

Long Island State Park Region

# Youth Group Permit

## 2025 Information, Conditions & Requirements

FEES, DATES AND INFORMATION CONTAINED HEREIN ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE.

## APPLICATION MUST BE RECEIVED AT LEAST <u>14 DAYS PRIOR</u> TO THE DATE OF THE EVENT.

## Use this Youth Group Application for DAY CAMPS, DAY CARE CENTERS, and RELIGIOUS YOUTH GROUPS.

(Youth Organization is defined as an organized group of 10 or more unrelated youths 16 and under.) Youth Organizations, profit and non-profit, must comply with the following requirements, in addition to the rules and regulations of the Group Use Permit which may be obtained from the permit office.

Youth Group Permit applications can be downloaded at parks.ny.gov  $\rightarrow$  Regions  $\rightarrow$  Long Island  $\rightarrow$  Permits

- Applications must be <u>RECEIVED</u> no less than <u>14 days prior</u> to the date of the event. All permits are issued on a first come, first served basis in accordance with receipt of application. Applications are accepted by mail, in person at the Permits Office, or e-mail, and <u>MUST</u> be accompanied by the required permit fee, bus fee, any necessary paperwork, and a self-addressed business size, stamped, envelope. All alternate dates must be listed on one application. Only one application per group. <u>ALL INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED.</u>
- 2. Permits must be accompanied by the proper permit fees and the following requirements:
  - a. Photocopy of this year's or last year's certificate or license from the applicable state or local agency (Example: Board of Health, Department of Social Services, etc.) authorizing the permittee to operate a youth organization and that the permittee meets all the legal requirements for such an operation during the terms of the permit.
  - b. Name, address and telephone number of the owners and operators.
  - c. Copy of certificate of insurance see attached sample.
- 3. A <u>SEPARATE</u> application and check or money order must be submitted <u>for each outing date requested</u>. If this requirement is not followed all applications and materials <u>*WILL BE RETURNED*</u>.
- Permits may be limited to a maximum of two days per week to any combination of State Parks in the Long Island Region.
   EXCEPTION: CAPTREE STATE PARK: visits to Captree for the purpose of fishing/excursion boat trips will not be counted in the 2 day per week limit. A permit is required.

#### EXCEPTION: ROBERT MOSES STATE PARK IS NOT AVAILABLE TO ANY YOUTH GROUPS.

- 5. Due to space limitations, permits will be issued subject solely at the discretion of the Long Island State Park Region.
- 6. No persons more than the number authorized in the permit are to be brought to the park. The number of passengers in the class vehicle used must not exceed the allowable limits as fixed by law, or codes, rules, and regulations.
- 7. The permittee is subject to compliance with all the terms herein described and any violation will result in refusal of admittance or request to leave the park. All members of the group must comply with the directives of the Park Manager/Superintendent or his/ her designated representative.
  - 8. Permits are issued on the condition that the permittee shall be responsible for any and all damage to park property or facilities which may result from the permittee's use thereof. The said permittee assumes all risks and shall hold harmless and defend the State of New York, the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation and the Long Island State Park Region, its officers and employees, for injury or death arising out of an accident to themselves or others, resulting from activities under this permit or by reason of any authorized activities undertaken in the contravention to the terms under which this permit is issued. Violation of the above rules or other Long Island State Park regulations will result in immediate revocation of permit (NO REFUND), possible issuance of summons and whatever other legal remedies the Long Island State Park Region deems necessary.

## TRANSPORTATION FEES AND INFORMATION:

- 9. All vehicles must pay vehicular use fee (VUF) or park entry fee upon arrival, when in effect.
- 10. Unless otherwise specified, all vehicles must park in designated areas and no reserved parking spaces will be assigned. Vehicles are not permitted in picnic areas or on service roads.
- 11. Drop off or pick-up of members of the group on roadways, toll plazas, park entrances or at any point within the park other than that designated by the Park Manager/Superintendent is **STRICTLY PROHIBITED**.
- 12. We do not issue prepaid vehicle parking tickets (VUF). If you are looking for an accommodation to be made for your event, you may contact the Park Office directly to work out a solution with the Park Manager

#### **BUSES**:

- 13. Bus traffic is not permitted on Long Island State Parkways except for:
  - Heckscher Parkway SOUTH of Sunrise Highway (Route 27)

- Wantagh, Meadowbrook and Robert Moses Parkways SOUTH of Merrick Road (Route 27A)
- Sunken Meadow Parkway NORTH of Route 25A
- Ocean Parkways and Montauk Highway.
- 14. Bus entrance tickets are \$35.00 for all organizations.
- 15. Section 104 of the Vehicle and Traffic Law defines "bus" as: Every motor vehicle having a seating capacity of 15 passengers or more in addition to the driver and used for the transportation of persons. All vehicles registered as a bus must pay the bus fee regardless of the number of passengers on board.
- 16. All organizations arriving at the park without a permit will be charged the full \$35.00 bus fee (provided that the park has not reached full capacity).
- 17. BUS SCHOOL GROUPS ONLY for Jones Beach:
  - Outing buses must enter the park via Merrick Road (Route 27A) south to MEADOWBROOK PARKWAY or ROBERT MOSES CAUSEWAY and unload and load at Field 4 unless specified within the permit.
  - Buses will park in the areas for outing buses in Parking Field 4 or as otherwise directed.
  - All buses must leave at sunset or before 12 midnight when park is open at night.

## **GUIDELINES FOR SWIMMING BY YOUTH ORGANIZATIONS:**

Recognizing that swimming carries with it inherent risks and in view of PARKS' mission to provide "...safe enjoyable recreational... opportunities...", the following guidelines have been instituted and shall apply to all youth organizations seeking approval for organized outings to Long Island State Parks when those outings are to include swimming or bathing by youth organizations:

- A. Children under ten (10) years of age shall not be permitted to engage in ocean swimming or bathing.
- B. When youth organizations are brought into the water for swimming or bathing of any kind, the youth organization will provide for a counselor-to-youth ratio of no less than 1 to 6 and will utilize the buddy system as noted in the NYS health code.
- C. Before any attempt is made to enter the ocean, the youth organization's group leader must first report to the main lifeguard stand and show the permit issued by Long Island State Park Region to the lifeguard officer in charge of the main stand. The youth organization's leader must ask the head lifeguard where the group should enter the water. (NOTE: IT REMAINS WITHIN THE DISCRETION OF THE LIFEGUARD IN CHARGE TO PROHIBIT BATHING IF, IN THE JUDGEMENT OF THE LIFEGUARD, WATER CONDITIONS DO NOT ALLOW FOR SAFE BATHING).
- D. Youth organization operators are responsible for maintaining effective control of their groups' litter by placing it in trash receptacles provided on the beachfront. They will also assure that their groups do not occupy licensed concession premises or otherwise prevent concession customers from using sales and seating areas within those licensed premises, unless youth organization members make appropriate sales. The youth organization operators are also responsible for assuring that comfort stations are not used for any other purpose including changing clothes and bathing/showering since there are facilities provided for those purposes within the park.
- E. No more than 50 children will be permitted at any one oceanfront at any one time to ensure effective surveillance of the waterfront by lifeguards. State park facilities at which swimming or bathing will be permitted and the maximum number of youths for which a permit may be issued are specified below:

FACILITY	LOCATION	MAXIMUM SIZE GROUP	TIMES
Jones Beach East Bathhouse	Ocean Beach	50	10:45am to 12:45pm
		50	1:15pm to 3:15pm
Jones Beach West Bathhouse	Ocean Beach	50	10:45am to 12:45pm
		50	1:15pm to 3:15pm
Jones Beach West Bathhouse	Pool*	200	10:45am to 12:45pm
		200	1:15pm to 3:15pm
Jones Beach Zach's Bay	Bay	200	10:45am to 12:45pm
		200	1:15pm to 3:15pm
Heckscher	Bay	200	10:45am to 12:45pm
		200	1:15pm to 3:15pm
Sunken Meadow (Gov. Alfred E. Smith)	L.I. Sound	200	10:45am to 12:45pm
		200	1:15pm to 3:15pm

## 2025 SEASON DATES ARE JUNE 28 THROUGH AUGUST 29, UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED

\*Pool fees are \$5.00 PER ADULT, \$3.00 PER CHILD. Lockers are available for an additional fee. Fees paid at Jones Beach. NO FOOD, DRINK OR COOLERS MAY BE BROUGHT INTO ANY POOL AREA

## **REFUND POLICY:**

- 18. The permit is refundable for inclement weather or if advance notice of cancellation is received in the permit office, in writing (no phone calls) at least <u>7 DAYS</u> before event date along with original permit and original bus ticket(s).
- 19. PERMITS MAY NOT BE USED FOR ANOTHER DATE OR GROUP. NO RAIN DATES ARE GIVEN IN ADVANCE.
- 20. All requests for refunds must be received in writing (no phone calls) along with the original permit and if applicable, original bus tickets.

## **Refunds:**

- 30 days or more prior to the reserved date, a full (100%) refund shall be issued.
- 10-29 days prior to the reserved date, a 50% refund shall be issued.
- Less than 10 days prior to reservation date, NO REFUND.
- 21. BUS TICKETS: Any unused tickets may be returned, accompanied by a letter requesting a refund within 60 days after the outing date.
- 22. There is a ten-dollar (\$10.00) processing fee on all refunds.

APPLICATIONS FOR ALL FACILITIES WILL BE PROCESSED ON A FIRST COME, FIRST SERVED BASIS.



#### LONG ISLAND STATE PARKS REGION 2025 Application for Youth Group Permit (FEES, DATES, AND INFORMATION CONTAINED HEREIN ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE)

USE THIS YOUTH GROUP APPLICATION FOR DAY CAMPS, DAY CARE CENTERS, RELIGIOUS YOUTH GROUPS

## ALL APPLICATIONS MUST BE RECEIVED AT LEAST 14 DAYS PRIOR TO THE DATE OF THE EVENT. PLEASE PRINT NEATLY – ALL INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED.

1.	NAME OF PARK REQUESTED:         1 <sup>ST</sup> choice:	2 <sup>ND</sup> choice, if desired:	
2.	SPECIFIC LOCATION IN PARK REQUESTED	D:	
	NAME OF ORGANIZATION OR GROUP:		
	NAME OF DIRECTOR:	PHONE:	
	NAME OF PERSON IN CHARGE:	PHONE	:
4.	EMAIL ADDRESS:		
5.	STREET (where permit will be mailed to)	A	PT #/FL
	TOWN/CITY:	STATE:ZIP:	
6.	APPROXIMATE TIME OF ARRIVAL:	AM / PM; APPROXIMATE TIME OF DEPA	ARTURE: AM / PM
7.	TOTAL # PEOPLE; # CARS	; # BUSES / VANS (see bus section)	
8.	GROUPS MUST BE SUPERVISED BY COMPI SUPERVISOR PER TEN CHILDREN. IF SWIM MUST BE A MINIMUM RATIO OF ONE SUP	MMING, SUPERVISION BY COMPETEN	
	NUMBER OF COUNSELORS (mir	nimum age 18): MALE; FEMALE	
	NUMBER OF CHILDREN:	MALE; FEMALE	_
9.	FOR SWIMMING AT HECKSCHER, SUNKEN SECOND CHOICE SESSION TIME:	N MEADOW, OR JONES BEACH YOU <u>MI</u> MARK 1 <sup>st</sup> CHOICE WITH #1, MARK 2 <sup>nd</sup> C	
	HECKSCHER BAY:	10:45am - 12:45pm1:15	5pm - 3:15pm
	SUNKEN MEADOW SOUND:	10:45am - 12:45pm1:15	5pm - 3:15pm
	JONES BEACH, OCEANFRONT:	10:45am - 12:45pm 1:15	5pm - 3:15pm
	JONES BEACH, WEST BATHHOUSE POOL:	10:45am - 12:45pm1:15pm - 3:1	5pm
	JONES BEACH, ZACH'S BAY:	10:45am- 12:45pm 1:15	pm - 3:15pm

# PAVILION RESERVATIONS ARE MADE THROUGH RESERVEAMERICA, https://www.reserveamerica.com/ OR BY CALLING (800) 456-2267.

PERMITS WILL NOT BE ISSUED FOR APPLICATIONS RECEIVED LESS THAN 14 DAYS PRIOR TO EVENT DATE. NO BOOKINGS OVER THE PHONE. AVAILABILITY OF DATE IS NOT GUARANTEED UNTIL PERMIT IS ISSUED. BEFORE BOOKING YOUR BUS, PLEASE BE AWARE THAT DATE REQUESTED MAY BE UNAVAILABLE.

## I CERTIFY THAT I HAVE READ, UNDERSTAND AND WILL COMPLY WITH THE ENCLOSED INFORMATION, CONDITIONS AND REQUIREMENTS.

SIGNATURE: \_\_\_\_\_

# PAYMENT

## **DO NOT PRINT THIS PAGE DOUBLE SIDED**

BUS PERMIT ( \_\_\_\_\_ X \$35 each)

TOTAL	ENCLOSED	\$

Chec	k or Mone	y Order payable to:	: New York State	Parks
	'Money Order ********	# ***********	*****	****
	□ VISA Credit card	MASTERCARD	□ DISCOVER	□ AMEX
	Exp. Date:	:	Security Code #	
	Name on O	Card:		
	Signature:	X		

**BE SURE TO:** 

- **1. SUBMIT COMPLETED APPLICATION WITH REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION <u>AT</u> <u>LEAST 14 DAYS PRIOR TO THE DATE OF YOUR EVENT.</u>**
- 2. PHOTOCOPY OF THIS YEAR'S OR LAST YEAR'S CERTIFICATE OR LICENSE FROM THE APPLICABLE STATE OR LOCAL AGENCY (Example: Board of Health, Department of Social Services, etc.).
- **3.** CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE. (SEE SAMPLE).
- 4. ENCLOSE PAYMENT. DO NOT MAIL OR DROP OFF WITH CASH.

MAIL TO:	BRING TO OUR OFFICE (Mon - Fri, 9am - 4:45pm):	EMAIL TO:
Permits	Long Island Regional HQ-Permits Office	LongIslandPermits@parks.ny.gov
PO BOX 247	625 Belmont Avenue	
Babylon, NY 11702	West Babylon, NY 11704	

# ALL APPLICATIONS RECEIVED IN LESS THAN 14 DAYS IN ADVANCE OF EVENT DATE WILL BE RETURNED.

ALL INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED.

Permit applications can be downloaded at parks.ny.gov  $\rightarrow$  Regions $\rightarrow$  Long Island $\rightarrow$  Permits

THIS PAYMENT DOCUMENT WILL BE SHREDDED ONCE PAYMENT IS PROCESSED.

COMPANIES AF COMPANIES AF COMPANIES AF PANY A PANY B PANY C PANY D  N ISSUED TO THE INSURED I CONTRACT OR OTHER DOC CONTRACT OR OTHER DOC THE POLICIES DESCRIBED H EDUCED BY PAID CLAIMS. POLICY EXPIRATION DATE (MM/DD/YY)  MINIMUM LIMITS	THE POLICIES BELOW. FORDING COVERAGE	DLICY PERIO D WHICH THI
PANY A PANY B PANY C PANY D  N ISSUED TO THE INSURED I CONTRACT OR OTHER DOC THE POLICIES DESCRIBED H EDUCED BY PAID CLAIMS. POLICY EXPIRATION DATE (MM/DD/YY)	NAMED ABOVE FOR THE PO JUMENT WITH RESPECT TO LEREIN IS SUBJECT TO ALL LIMITS GENERAL AGGREGATE PRODUCTS-COMP/OP AGG	S 2,000,00
PANY B PANY C PANY D  N ISSUED TO THE INSURED I CONTRACT OR OTHER DOC THE POLICIES DESCRIBED H EDUCED BY PAID CLAIMS. POLICY EXPIRATION DATE (MM/DD/YY)	CUMENT WITH RESPECT TO EREIN IS SUBJECT TO ALL LIMITS GENERAL AGGREGATE PRODUCTS-COMP/OP AGG	S 2,000,00
PANY C PANY D  VISSUED TO THE INSURED I CONTRACT OR OTHER DOC THE POLICIES DESCRIBED H EDUCED BY PAID CLAIMS.  POLICY EXPIRATION DATE (MM/DD/YY)	CUMENT WITH RESPECT TO EREIN IS SUBJECT TO ALL LIMITS GENERAL AGGREGATE PRODUCTS-COMP/OP AGG	S 2,000,00
PANY D  N ISSUED TO THE INSURED I CONTRACT OR OTHER DOC THE POLICIES DESCRIBED H EDUCED BY PAID CLAIMS.  POLICY EXPIRATION DATE (MM/DD/YY)	CUMENT WITH RESPECT TO EREIN IS SUBJECT TO ALL LIMITS GENERAL AGGREGATE PRODUCTS-COMP/OP AGG	S 2,000,00
N ISSUED TO THE INSURED I CONTRACT OR OTHER DOC THE POLICIES DESCRIBED H EDUCED BY PAID CLAIMS. POLICY EXPIRATION DATE (MM/DD/YY)	CUMENT WITH RESPECT TO EREIN IS SUBJECT TO ALL LIMITS GENERAL AGGREGATE PRODUCTS-COMP/OP AGG	S 2,000,00
CONTRACT OR OTHER DOC THE POLICIES DESCRIBED H EDUCED BY PAID CLAIMS. POLICY EXPIRATION DATE (MM/DD/YY)	CUMENT WITH RESPECT TO EREIN IS SUBJECT TO ALL LIMITS GENERAL AGGREGATE PRODUCTS-COMP/OP AGG	S 2,000,00
CONTRACT OR OTHER DOC THE POLICIES DESCRIBED H EDUCED BY PAID CLAIMS. POLICY EXPIRATION DATE (MM/DD/YY)	CUMENT WITH RESPECT TO EREIN IS SUBJECT TO ALL LIMITS GENERAL AGGREGATE PRODUCTS-COMP/OP AGG	S 2,000,00
POLICY EXPIRATION DATE (MM/DD/YY)	GENERAL AGGREGATE PRODUCTS-COMP/OP AGG	
MINIMUM LIMITS	PRODUCTS-COMP/OP AGG	
MINIMUM LIMITS <b>\</b>		\$ 2,000,0
MINIMUM LIMITS	PERSONAL INJURY	+
MINIMUM LIMITS		\$ 1,000,0
	EACH OCCURRENCE	\$ 1,000,0
	FIRE DAMAGE (Any one fire)	\$ 50,00
	MED EXPENSE (Any one person)	\$ 5,00
	COMBINED SINGLE LIMIT	\$
	BODILY INJURY/PERSON	s
	BODILY INJURY/ACCIDENT	\$
	PROPERTY DAMAGE	\$
	AUTO ONLY-EA ACCIDENT	s
	OTHER THAN AUTO ONLY:	
	EACH ACCIDENT	\$
	AGGREGATE	s
	EACH OCCURRENCE	\$
	AGGREGATE	s
	WC STAT. LIMITS OTHER	\$
	EL EACH ACCIDENT	\$
	EL DISEASE-POLICY LIMIT	\$
ILY AS SHOWN	EL DISEASE-EA EMPLOYEE	\$
	Contract Value S DBL * Statutory	
	TLY AS SHOWN	BODILY INJURY/ACCIDENT PROPERTY DAMAGE AUTO ONLY-EA ACCIDENT OTHER THAN AUTO ONLY: EACH ACCIDENT AGGREGATE EACH OCCURRENCE AGGREGATE WC STAT. LIMITS OTHER EL DISEASE-POLICY LIMIT EL DISEASE-POLICY LIMIT EL DISEASE-POLICY LIMIT EL DISEASE-POLICY LIMIT