Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation

Event Search Results

Skip Navigation LinksHome / Events / Search Results
7 events matched your search
Sun 27 Dec
Open House
Sunday, December 27, 2020 10:00 AM - 03:00 PM
Knox's Headquarters State Historic Site

The Ellison mansion is open for tours at 10:00 AM, 11:00 AM, 1:00 PM, 2:00 PM & 3:00 PM. Tour the elegant 1754 historic house decorated for the season in 18th century fashion.

Sat 19 Dec
Wassail, Wassail all over the Town
Saturday, December 19, 2020 05:00 PM - 08:00 PM
Knox's Headquarters State Historic Site

From 5:00 to 8:00 PM tour the beautifully decorated house, serenaded by carolers, and watch the Continental artillery celebrate the holiday with a bang by firing their cannon.

Sat 12 Dec
Christmas with the Ellisons
Saturday, December 12, 2020 05:00 PM - 08:00 PM
Knox's Headquarters State Historic Site

From 5:00 to 8:00 PM tour by candlelight the elegant 1754 Ellison mansion ornamented with visitors from the 1780 Continental artillery encampment, just down the road, and 18th century holiday decorations.

Sat 24 Oct
It was dark back then
Saturday, October 24, 2020 07:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Knox's Headquarters State Historic Site

From 7:00 - 10:30 PM tour the grounds by night if you dare. In the spirit of 18th century Gothic literature, costumed interpreters from the New Windsor Cantonment and Knox's Headquarters State Historic Sites submit for your approval a haunting tale. The eerie night-cloaked grounds of the historic Knox's Headquarters, the 1754 Ellison home, serve as a stage for this macabre presentation about strange happenings. Beginning October 1, call (845) 561-1765 X22 to make reservations.

Registration: Required
Sun 19 Jul
Aiming to Please
Sunday, July 19, 2020 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
Knox's Headquarters State Historic Site

Celebrate Henry Knox's birthday by talking about his favorite subject: artillery. From 12:00 PM to 4:00 PM, Revolutionary War cannon firings every half hour highlight this program about the 1780-81 artillery encampment at New Windsor.

Sat 04 Jul
Independence Day
Saturday, July 4, 2020
Knox's Headquarters State Historic Site

Celebrate the 4th at two sites hallowed by the soldiers who won our independence. At Knox's Headquarters see a small cannon fired at 1:00 & 4:00 PM. At the New Windsor Cantonment see military firing demonstrations at 2:00 PM.

Sat 27 Jun
The Fall of the House of Knox’s Headquarters
Saturday, June 27, 2020 01:00 PM - 04:00 PM
Knox's Headquarters State Historic Site

Tour the historic 1754 house with the affluent Ellison family, on the grounds meet descendants who served in the Civil War, and finally talk to the last desperate owners looking to unload the property in 1915. The program runs from 1:00 to 4:00 PM.