Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation

Event Search Results

Skip Navigation LinksHome / Events / Search Results
9 events matched your search
Tue 21 Aug
Tiny Tots (Ages 3 – 5)- Beach Art
Tuesday, August 21, 2018 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Jones Beach Nature Center
(516) 780-3295

Explore the natural world around us. These programs will connect children and their parents with nature through short walks, animal visitors, and crafts.

Registration: Required
Sat 01 Sep
Birding Basics: (Adult Program)
Saturday, September 1, 2018 09:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Jones Beach Nature Center
(516) 780-3295

In this introductory class for beginning birders, we will get you started with the basics of field guide and equipment use, tips for identification, and ethical field practices.

Registration: Required
Sun 02 Sep
The Power of Energy: (Children’s Program)
Sunday, September 2, 2018 01:30 PM - 03:00 PM
Jones Beach Nature Center
(516) 780-3295

Join us as we explore the fascinating world of electricity; where it comes from, how it works, and maybe create some of our own! Appropriate for children ages 7 +.

Registration: Required
Tue 04 Sep
Tiny Tots (Ages 3 – 5)- Butterflies and Moths
Tuesday, September 4, 2018 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Jones Beach Nature Center
(516) 780-3295

Explore the natural world around us. These programs will connect children and their parents with nature through short walks, animal visitors, and crafts.

Registration: Required
Sat 15 Sep
Wonders of Water: (Children’s Program)
Saturday, September 15, 2018 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Jones Beach Nature Center
(516) 780-3295

Living on an island, we are all literally surrounded by water! Join us at the Nature Center as we explore the secrets hidden in every tiny drop!

Registration: Required
Sun 16 Sep
Bike the Beach: (Adult Program)
Sunday, September 16, 2018 01:00 PM - 03:00 PM
Jones Beach Nature Center
(516) 780-3295

Bring your bicycles and binoculars and join us for an afternoon ride. Together, we will get some exercise while taking in some of the beautiful, late summer sights at the beach.

Registration: Required
Tue 18 Sep
Tiny Tots (Ages 3 – 5)- Changing Seasons
Tuesday, September 18, 2018 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Jones Beach Nature Center
(516) 780-3295

Explore the natural world around us. These programs will connect children and their parents with nature through short walks, animal visitors, and crafts.

Registration: Required
Sat 29 Sep
Wild Weather: (Children’s Program)
Saturday, September 29, 2018 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Jones Beach Nature Center
(516) 780-3295

Join us for some experiments and activities that help demonstrate the power of lightning, tornados and hurricanes. Appropriate for children ages 6+.

Registration: Required
Sun 30 Sep
Amazing Monarchs: (Family Program)
Sunday, September 30, 2018 01:30 PM - 03:00 PM
Jones Beach Nature Center
(516) 780-3295

Monarch butterflies fly our east coast shore line this time every year; only their offspring return. Learn about these amazing flyers and how they make their long trip.

Registration: Required