Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation

Event Search Results

Skip Navigation LinksHome / Events / Search Results
19 events matched your search
Thu 28 Jun
Tiny Tots: Nature Discoveries- Finding Your Way
Thursday, June 28, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

This is a special time for both parent and child to discover the wonders of their natural world together. Each program's theme will use nature explorations and hands-on activities as a springboard for learning. Children ages 3-5.

Registration: Required
Sat 30 Jun
Bat Safari
Saturday, June 30, 2018 07:30 PM - 09:00 PM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

Delve into the dark mysterious world of these fascinating creatures with an indoor presentation, followed by a trek through the woods to observe bats feeding in their natural habitat.

Registration: Required
Sat 07 Jul
Firefly Fun: Family Program
Saturday, July 7, 2018 07:00 PM - 08:30 PM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

Enjoy a firefly expedition onto the lawn to find these wonderful illuminating creatures. Please bring an empty, clean, dry container with cap to catch, observe and release the fireflies.

Registration: Required
Sun 08 Jul
South Side Nature Walk: Adult Program
Sunday, July 8, 2018 09:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

Meet on the south Side. Take a delightful walk along the Nissequogue River to discover how pristine this area is.

Registration: Required
Thu 12 Jul
Tiny Tots: “Let’s Discover Nature” Hour- Suncatchers
Thursday, July 12, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

The "Let's Discover Nature" Hour is a special time for both parent and child to discover the wonders of their natural world together. Each program's theme will use nature explorations and hands-on activities as a springboard for learning.

Ages 3-5

Sat 14 Jul
Nature Quest: Family Program
Saturday, July 14, 2018 01:30 PM - 03:00 PM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

We will supply a clear, detailed map of the course, a hunter's list, clipboard and crayon. Have fun while hunting for the natural and humorous objects on our scavenger hunt list.

Registration: Required
Sun 22 Jul
Hug a Tree to Survive Walk: Family Program
Sunday, July 22, 2018 01:00 PM - 02:30 PM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

This program is based on the ‘Adventure Smart' program which teaches you how not to become lost in the woods and what to do if you should become lost. Short walk, includes how to make a temporary shelter.

Registration: Required
Thu 26 Jul
Tiny Tots: “Let’s Discover Nature” Hour- Buzz Says the Bee
Thursday, July 26, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

The "Let's Discover Nature" Hour is a special time for both parent and child to discover the wonders of their natural world together. Each program's theme will use nature explorations and hands-on activities as a springboard for learning.

Ages 3-5

Sat 28 Jul
Pond Exploration: Children’s Program
Saturday, July 28, 2018 01:30 PM - 03:00 PM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

What lives in the pond besides fish? Observation pools will be set up so observation will be easy and safe. We suggest you wear a hat, sunscreen and clothes for getting wet and dirty.

Registration: Required
Sun 05 Aug
Mad Scientists Lab: Family Program
Sunday, August 5, 2018 01:00 PM - 02:30 PM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

Conduct several experiments using household items. You never know what we might create, split in half, sink and even blow up! Who knows what crazy things will be happening in the laboratory!

Registration: Required
Thu 09 Aug
Tiny Tots: “Let’s Discover Nature” Hour- Pond Explorations
Thursday, August 9, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

The "Let's Discover Nature" Hour is a special time for both parent and child to discover the wonders of their natural world together. Each program's theme will use nature explorations and hands-on activities as a springboard for learning.

Ages 3-5

Sat 11 Aug
South Side Up River Walk: Adult Program
Saturday, August 11, 2018 01:30 PM - 03:30 PM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

Meet on the south side. We will walk up river to Blydenburg County Park. Please wear chest waders (no felt bottoms), a modest bathing suit or shirt & shorts. You must wear water shoes or sneakers. The water is cold, fast moving and can be to the waist at times. Bring a towel, walking stick and drinking water.

Registration: Required
Sun 19 Aug
Lady Bug Adventures: Children’s Program
Sunday, August 19, 2018 01:00 PM - 02:30 PM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

Join us for games and hands-on activities as you discover how these little beetles survive. A walk will follow.

Registration: Required
Thu 23 Aug
Tiny Tots: “Let’s Discover Nature” Hour- I Spy a Dragonfly
Thursday, August 23, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

The "Let's Discover Nature" Hour is a special time for both parent and child to discover the wonders of their natural world together. Each program's theme will use nature explorations and hands-on activities as a springboard for learning.

Ages 3-5

Sat 25 Aug
South Side Down River Walk: Adult Program
Saturday, August 25, 2018 01:30 PM - 03:30 PM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

Meet on the south side. We will walk down river to observe this unique eco-system. Please wear chest waders (no felt bottoms), a modest bathing suit or shirt & shorts. You must wear water shoes or sneakers. The water is cold, fast moving and can be to the waist. Bring a towel, walking stick and drinking water.

Registration: Required
Thu 06 Sep
Tiny Tots: “Let’s Discover Nature” Hour- What Lives Under That Log
Thursday, September 6, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

The "Let's Discover Nature" Hour is a special time for both parent and child to discover the wonders of their natural world together. Each program's theme will use nature explorations and hands-on activities as a springboard for learning.

Ages 3-5

Thu 20 Sep
Tiny Tots: “Let’s Discover Nature” Hour- Those Wacky Squirrels
Thursday, September 20, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

The "Let's Discover Nature" Hour is a special time for both parent and child to discover the wonders of their natural world together. Each program's theme will use nature explorations and hands-on activities as a springboard for learning.

Ages 3-5

Sat 22 Sep
Turtle Crossing: Children’s Program
Saturday, September 22, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

There are many types of turtles that live on Long Island. We have several that live right here at the park. Through hands on games, discover where they live, what they eat and how they protect themselves.

Registration: Required
Sun 23 Sep
Butterfly Safari: Family Program
Sunday, September 23, 2018 01:00 PM - 02:30 PM
Caleb Smith State Park Preserve
(631) 265-1054

Discover a butterfly's life cycle, metamorphosis and survival techniques. Enjoy an expedition into the fields to catch, observe up close and release these beautiful insects.

Registration: Required