Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation

Event Search Results

Skip Navigation LinksHome / Events / Search Results
11 events matched your search
Sat 23 Mar
Busy Beavers
Saturday, March 23, 2019 01:00 PM
Grafton Lakes State Park
(518) 279-1155

Learn about all the great things these forest workers do to create a healthy habitat for themselves and many other creatures. Weather permitting, we will take a 25 minute walk to a beaver habitat to see the lodges that beavers at Grafton build! $2/person or $5/family. Pre-register: (518-279-1155)
Registration: Optional
Thu 28 Mar
Book Club at the Welcome Center
Thursday, March 28, 2019 06:30 PM
Grafton Lakes State Park
(518) 279-1155

Join us for a discussion on Frans de Waal’s “Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are?” Please use the park’s winter entrance off Long Pond Road as the main gate will be closed. New members always welcome!
Sat 30 Mar
Watch Out for Your Backyard Birds
Saturday, March 30, 2019 09:00 AM
Grafton Lakes State Park
(518) 279-1155

Help keep track of birds nesting around your home. Learn how to take part in NestWatch, a community science program originally launched by Cornell University. Pre-register: (518)-279-1155.
Sat 13 Apr
Spring Scavenger Hunt at the Welcome Center
Saturday, April 13, 2019 10:00 AM - 03:00 PM
Grafton Lakes State Park
(518) 279-1155

Drop-in anytime between 10am and 3pm at the Welcome Center to participate in the spring scavenger hunt! Start at the front desk, then go outside to enjoy some spring weather and an active challenge around the building or out on the trails! Family friendly and all ages welcome.
Sat 20 Apr
Birds and Bagels at the Welcome Center
Saturday, April 20, 2019 10:00 AM
Grafton Lakes State Park
(518) 279-1155

Enjoy a bagel while observing our most active spring friends– the birds! $3 per person. Ages 8+. Program will be held inside. Pre-register: (518)-279-1155 and let us know what kind of bagel you would like.
Registration: Required
Thu 25 Apr
Trout Discovery Day
Thursday, April 25, 2019 01:00 PM - 03:00 PM
Grafton Lakes State Park
(518) 279-1155

Come help us release trout into the park’s ponds! Bring a bucket for your fish friend, and be ready for some fun fishy activities too! Event meets at the Deerfield Pavilion. $2/person or $5/family. Pre-registration required: (518)-279-1155.
Registration: Required
Fri 26 Apr
Tree, Tree, Hooray! at the Welcome Center
Friday, April 26, 2019 01:00 PM
Grafton Lakes State Park
(518) 279-1155

Join us in celebrating Arbor Day by showing your tall forest friends some love! Enjoy a tree-themed craft and an outdoor walk (weather permitting). Family friendly. $2/person or $5/family. Pre-register: 518-279-1155.
Registration: Optional
Sat 27 Apr
Celebrate Earth Day at Grafton Lakes State Park at the Welcome Center
Saturday, April 27, 2019 01:00 PM
Grafton Lakes State Park
(518) 279-1155

Enjoy the spring weather and learn positive ways that you can make a difference in protecting the place we all call home– the earth! Games, activities, and a short hike (weather permitting) will make for a fun afternoon. Family friendly. $2/person or $5/family. Pre-register: 518-279-1155.
Registration: Optional
Sat 04 May
I Love My Park Day
Saturday, May 4, 2019 09:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Grafton Lakes State Park
(518) 279-1155

Help your favorite park spruce up for spring! Volunteer for a morning of projects in the beautiful outdoors. Morning refreshments provided. Scout groups welcome! Preregistration starts on April first online at www.ptny.org/events/i-love-my-park-day
Registration: Required
Mon 27 May
Memorial Day Sand Sculpture Contest
Monday, May 27, 2019 12:00 PM - 03:00 PM
Grafton Lakes State Park
(518) 279-1155

Who will bring their best “grain game” to the beach this year? Register at 12pm by the Lifeguard Station at Long Pond Beach. Must provide your own tools and props. Judging at 2pm, awards at 3pm. Free to enter, prizes for all!
Sat 01 Jun
National Trails Day
Saturday, June 1, 2019 09:00 AM
Grafton Lakes State Park
(518) 279-1155

Join us for a morning of service in the park, and we’ll thank you with a complimentary barbecue and raffle of goodies! Check-in at 9am at the Grafton Welcome Center, trail work 9:30am-noon, followed by lunch. Please RSVP so we have projects and food for all: 518-279-1155.
Registration: Required