Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation

Safety Courses

Skip Navigation LinksHome / Recreation / Boating / Education / Safety Course Dates

Motorboats

New Law Effective May 1st 2014
All individuals born on or after 5/1/96 are now required to successfully complete an approved course in boater education in order to operate a motorboat. Approved courses include those offered by NYS Parks, the U.S. Coast Guard AuxiliaryLeaving New York State Parks or the U.S. Power SquadronsLeaving New York State Parks. Individuals less than 10 years of age may not take this course of instruction. Certain allowances to this law have been made for visitors to New York, persons renting a boat from a livery and persons purchasing a new boat for the first time. Please refer to Frequently Asked Questions for more information. Find a Boating Safety Course near you.

22 classes matched your search
Saturday, March 2, 2019 Fairport Public Library, 1 Village Landing, Fairport (Monroe) Johnston, John (585)223-9091 This class is for adults and children, 2 afternoon sessions must attend both The instructor charges a fee for this course. If you are 18 or older in addition to the class fee you will be required to pay NYS Parks a $10.00 fee for your boating safety certificate.
Saturday, March 2, 2019 Fairport Public Library, 1 Village Landing, Fairport (Monroe) Johnston, John (585)223-9091 This class is for adults and children, 2 afternoon sessions must attend both The instructor charges a fee for this course. If you are 18 or older in addition to the class fee you will be required to pay NYS Parks a $10.00 fee for your boating safety certificate.
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 Webster Schroder H.S., 875 Ridge Rd., Webster (Monroe) DeMay, Michael (585)388-1260 This class is for adults and children, 2 evening sessions must attend both The instructor charges a fee for this course. If you are 18 or older in addition to the class fee you will be required to pay NYS Parks a $10.00 fee for your boating safety certificate.
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 Webster Schroder H.S., 875 Ridge Rd., Webster (Monroe) DeMay, Michael (585)388-1260 This class is for adults and children, 2 evening sessions must attend both The instructor charges a fee for this course. If you are 18 or older in addition to the class fee you will be required to pay NYS Parks a $10.00 fee for your boating safety certificate.
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 Brighton Recreation & Parks, 220 Idlewood Rd., Rochester (Monroe) Holden, G. Hank (585)784-5260 This class is for adults and children The instructor charges a fee for this course. If you are 18 or older in addition to the class fee you will be required to pay NYS Parks a $10.00 fee for your boating safety certificate.
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 Brighton Recreation & Parks, 220 Idlewood Rd., Rochester (Monroe) Holden, G. Hank (585)784-5260 This class is for adults and children The instructor charges a fee for this course. If you are 18 or older in addition to the class fee you will be required to pay NYS Parks a $10.00 fee for your boating safety certificate.
Wednesday, April 24, 2019 Perinton Community Ctr., 1350 Turk Hill Rd. (Monroe) DeMay, Michael (585)388-1260 This class is for adults and children, 2 evening sessions must attend both The instructor charges a fee for this course. If you are 18 or older in addition to the class fee you will be required to pay NYS Parks a $10.00 fee for your boating safety certificate.
Wednesday, April 24, 2019 Perinton Community Ctr., 1350 Turk Hill Rd. (Monroe) DeMay, Michael (585)388-1260 This class is for adults and children, 2 evening sessions must attend both The instructor charges a fee for this course. If you are 18 or older in addition to the class fee you will be required to pay NYS Parks a $10.00 fee for your boating safety certificate.
Saturday, April 27, 2019 MCPSTF (Monroe Co.) 1190 Scottsville Rd., Rochester, (Monroe) Whitehair, John (585)467-1065 children & adults reg: www2.monroecounty.gov/sheriff-community/bsafety
Saturday, April 27, 2019 MCPSTF (Monroe Co.) 1190 Scottsville Rd., Rochester, (Monroe) Whitehair, John (585)467-1065 children & adults reg: www2.monroecounty.gov/sheriff-community/bsafety
Monday, May 13, 2019 Brighton Recreation & Parks, 220 Idlewood Rd., Rochester (Monroe) Holden, G. Hank (585)784-5260 This class is for adults and children The instructor charges a fee for this course. If you are 18 or older in addition to the class fee you will be required to pay NYS Parks a $10.00 fee for your boating safety certificate.
Monday, May 13, 2019 Brighton Recreation & Parks, 220 Idlewood Rd., Rochester (Monroe) Holden, G. Hank (585)784-5260 This class is for adults and children The instructor charges a fee for this course. If you are 18 or older in addition to the class fee you will be required to pay NYS Parks a $10.00 fee for your boating safety certificate.
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 Webster Schroder H.S., 875 Ridge Rd., Webster (Monroe) DeMay, Michael (585)388-1260 This class is for adults and children, 2 evening sessions must attend both The instructor charges a fee for this course. If you are 18 or older in addition to the class fee you will be required to pay NYS Parks a $10.00 fee for your boating safety certificate.
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 Webster Schroder H.S., 875 Ridge Rd., Webster (Monroe) DeMay, Michael (585)388-1260 This class is for adults and children, 2 evening sessions must attend both The instructor charges a fee for this course. If you are 18 or older in addition to the class fee you will be required to pay NYS Parks a $10.00 fee for your boating safety certificate.
Saturday, May 18, 2019 MCPSTF (Monroe Co.) 1190 Scottsville Rd., Rochester, (Monroe) Whitehair, John (585)467-1065 children & adults reg: www2.monroecounty.gov/sheriff-community/bsafety
Saturday, May 18, 2019 MCPSTF (Monroe Co.) 1190 Scottsville Rd., Rochester, (Monroe) Whitehair, John (585)467-1065 children & adults reg: www2.monroecounty.gov/sheriff-community/bsafety
Saturday, June 1, 2019 Webster Recreation, 1350 Chiyoda Dr., Webster (Monroe) Whitehair, John (585)872-7103 This class is for adults and children, must register for the course
Saturday, June 1, 2019 Webster Recreation, 1350 Chiyoda Dr., Webster (Monroe) Whitehair, John (585)872-7103 This class is for adults and children, must register for the course
Tuesday, June 11, 2019 MCPSTF (Monroe Co.) 1190 Scottsville Rd., Rochester, (Monroe) Whitehair, John (585)467-1065 children & adults reg: www2.monroecounty.gov/sheriff-community/bsafety
Tuesday, June 11, 2019 MCPSTF (Monroe Co.) 1190 Scottsville Rd., Rochester, (Monroe) Whitehair, John (585)467-1065 children & adults reg: www2.monroecounty.gov/sheriff-community/bsafety
Saturday, June 22, 2019 MCPSTF (Monroe Co.) 1190 Scottsville Rd., Rochester, (Monroe) Whitehair, John (585)467-1065 children & adults reg: www2.monroecounty.gov/sheriff-community/bsafety
Saturday, June 22, 2019 MCPSTF (Monroe Co.) 1190 Scottsville Rd., Rochester, (Monroe) Whitehair, John (585)467-1065 children & adults reg: www2.monroecounty.gov/sheriff-community/bsafety