Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation


Skip Navigation LinksHome / Camping

Planning your next vacation?

Why not consider staying in one of New York's beautiful state parks? Imagine pitching a tent near the St. Lawrence River or one of the beautiful lakes or waking up in your recreational vehicle surrounded by the majesty of the woods or cooking breakfast in a cabin overlooking the "Grand Canyon of the East."

Did you know you save 15-20% by reserving a weeknight* campsite?
(*Sunday-Thursday, excluding holidays)

For information about camping in the Adirondack and Catskill Parks visit New York State Parks


Arranging a stay at a New York state park is easy! Reservations can be made from up to 3 p.m. on the day of arrival* to 9 months in advance by calling toll-free 1-800-456-CAMP or visiting *Same-day reservations will be allowed until 3pm on day of arrival; this applies to campsites only. Cabins, cottages, and yurts can be reserved as late as 1-day prior to arrival.

Reservations will be taken as follows:

From December 1 through mid-March:
Monday-Friday: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
From mid-March through Labor Day:
Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
From the day after Labor Day through November 30:
Monday - Friday 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.


Access Pass/Lifetime Liberty Pass holders: Before making your camping reservations, please review if your pass will be eligible. You must have a valid pass at the time of your stay.

Pet Policy in effect: No more than two pets per site where pets are permitted.

Don't Move Firewood! Regulations in Effect

By transporting firewood, you could be spreading invasive insects and diseases that can quickly kill large numbers of trees.

Help PROTECT OUR PARKS and follow Firewood Regulation:

  • It is illegal to bring untreated firewood* into New York State.
  • It is illegal to transport untreated firewood more than 50 miles from its source or origin.
  • When transporting firewood, you must carry one of the following: 1) proof of source (receipt from a vendor), 2) proof of origin (self-issued certificate from DEC's website**), or 3) proof of or treatment (label indicating treatment method). Failure to do so may result in you being ticketed and subject to a fine.
  • Please be aware of state and federal quarantines that further restrict the movement of firewood: Spotted lanternfly quarantineLeaving New York State Parks***, Asian longhorned beetle quarantineLeaving New York State Parks, oak wilt quarantinesLeaving New York State Parks

NOTE: It is always best to use heat treated firewood or obtain local firewood at or near your destination. For more information on the availability of firewood please contact the park/campground directly.

For more information about firewood regulations visit New York State Parks or call toll free 1-866-640-0652. The interactive Firewood Source MapLeaving New York State Parks shows a 50-mile distance from which untreated firewood may be moved to NYS Parks and DEC campgrounds. Additional firewood source maps are available at each campground's website.

*To be considered treated, firewood must be heat-treated (kiln-dried) to a minimum core temperature of 71 degrees Celsius (160 F) for 75 minutes, and must have a label that says "New York Approved Heat-Treated Firewood/Pest Free" along with the producer's name and legal address. Firewood that meets these standards and is labeled as such can be moved into NY and around the state without restriction.

**The self-issued certificateLeaving New York State Parks of origin is required for those who are transporting firewood that they cut for their own personal use and therefore know where the wood was grown.

***The external quarantine covers areas of states (counties in Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Virginia) where spotted lanternfly (SLF)Leaving New York State Parks is known to have established populations.

Spotted Lanternfly

Spotted lanternfly (SLF)Leaving New York State Parks is an invasive insect from Asian that could impact New York's forests as well as the agriculture and tourism industries. SLF can jump and fly short distances, but spreads primarily through human activity. They hitch rides to new areas when they lay their eggs on vehicles, firewood, outdoor furniture, stone, and other transported materials.

Want to help?

  • Learn how to identify spotted lanternfly
  • Inspect your firewood, vehicles, outdoor furniture, and other camping gear for egg masses, nymphs, and/or adults
  • If you visit states with spotted lanternfly, check all your equipment and gear before leaving and scrape off any egg masses

If you believe you have found spotted lanternfly, please email pictures of the insect, egg masses, and/or infestation signs to for verification. Please be sure to note the location (intersecting roads, address, GPS coordinates, etc.). Reporting this invasive pest can help slow the spread of SLF into New York.

For more information about spotted lanternfly and how you can help, visit New York State Parks