Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation

Camping

Skip Navigation LinksHome / Camping

Planning your next vacation?

Why not consider staying in one of New York's beautiful state parks? Imagine pitching a tent near the St. Lawrence River or one of the beautiful lakes or waking up in your recreational vehicle surrounded by the majesty of the woods or cooking breakfast in a cabin overlooking the "Grand Canyon of the East."

Did you know you save 15-20% by reserving a weeknight* campsite?
(*Sunday-Thursday, excluding holidays)

For information about camping in the Adirondack and Catskill Parks visit http://www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/camping.htmlLeaving New York State Parks

Reservations

Arranging a stay at a New York state park is easy! Reservations can be made from 1 day - 9 months in advance by calling toll free 1-800-456-CAMP or http://newyorkstateparks.reserveamerica.com. For spur of the moment trips, rentals are also available on a walk-up basis.

Reservations will be taken as follows:

  • From December 1 through mid-March:
  • Monday-Friday: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
  • Saturday and Sunday: 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
  • From mid-March through Labor Day:
  • Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
  • Saturday and Sunday 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
  •  
  • From the day after Labor Day through November 30:
  • Monday - Friday 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
  • Saturday and Sunday: 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Access Pass users please note: qualification changes are in effect as of May 19th, 2010. Before making your camping reservations, please learn whether your pass will be eligible.

New Pet Policy in affect as of August 2011. No more than 2 pets per site where pets are permitted.

Don't Move Firewood! Regulations in Effect

By transporting firewood, you could be spreading diseases and invasive insects that can quickly kill large numbers of trees.

Help SLOW THE SPREAD and obey the Firewood Regulation:

  • It is illegal to bring untreated firewood* into New York State.
  • It is illegal to transport untreated firewood more than 50 miles from its source or origin.
  • When transporting firewood, you must carry proof of source (receipt from a vendor), origin (self-issued certificate from DEC website**) or treatment (label indicating treatment method). Failure to do so may result in you being ticketed and subject to a fine.
  • Please be aware of state and federal quarantines that further restrict the movement of firewood: Emerald ash borer quarantines, Asian longhorned beetle quarantinesLeaving New York State Parks.

For more information about firewood visit www.dec.ny.gov/animals/28722.htmlLeaving New York State Parks or call toll free 1-866-640-0652. Firewood Source Area MapsLeaving New York State Parks showing a 50-mile distance from DEC campgrounds are available at each campground's information pageLeaving New York State Parks.

It is always best to use heat treated firewood or obtain local firewood at or near your destination. For more information on the availability of firewood please contact the park/campground directly.

*To be considered treated, firewood must be heat-treated (kiln-dried) to a minimum core temperature of 71 degrees Celsius (160 F) for 75 minutes, and must be accompanied by a label that says "New York Approved Heat-Treated Firewood/Pest Free" along with the producer's name and legal address. Firewood that meets these standards and is labeled as such can be moved into the state and around the state without restriction.

** The self-issued certificateLeaving New York State Parks of origin is required for those who are transporting firewood that they cut for their own personal use and therefore know where the wood was grown.