Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation

Event Search Results

Skip Navigation LinksHome / Events / Search Results
9 events matched your search
Sat 25 Aug
Moonlight Stroll: (Family Program)
Saturday, August 25, 2018 08:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Connetquot River State Park Preserve
(631) 581-1072

Enjoy a leisurely walk along the meandering moonlit trails of the preserve. The woodlands are different in the dark. Discover what creatures are around this time of night!

Registration: Required
Tue 28 Aug
Tiny Tots: “Nature Discoveries”- Lovely Ladybugs
Tuesday, August 28, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Connetquot River State Park Preserve
(631) 581-1072

Explore the natural world around us. These programs will connect children and their parents with nature through short walks, animal visitors, and crafts. Children ages 3-5.

Registration: Required
Sat 01 Sep
Flutterby Butterfly: (Family Program)
Saturday, September 1, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM
Connetquot River State Park Preserve
(631) 581-1072

Giggle through a fun presentation with some surprises. Afterwards, we will take a walk to search for these beautiful creatures. We will loan nets, books and temporary cages.

Registration: Required
Sun 02 Sep
South Side Sportsmen’s Club Historic House Tours
Sunday, September 2, 2018 01:00 PM - 02:00 PM
Connetquot River State Park Preserve
(631) 581-1072

Step back in time as you tour the Main House of the South Side Sportsmen's Club. A docent will discuss the history of the tavern and the high society Sportsmen's Club which shaped Connetquot River State Park Preserve into what it is today.

Registration: Required
Tue 11 Sep
Tiny Tots: “Nature Discoveries”- Beautiful Butterflies
Tuesday, September 11, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Connetquot River State Park Preserve
(631) 581-1072

Explore the natural world around us. These programs will connect children and their parents with nature through short walks, animal visitors, and crafts. Children ages 3-5.

Registration: Required
Sat 15 Sep
Bird & Breakfast: (Adult Program)
Saturday, September 15, 2018 08:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Connetquot River State Park Preserve
(631) 581-1072

Enjoy a continental breakfast (courtesy of The Great South Bay Audubon Society) and a presentation introducing the local and migratory birds seen in our area. Afterward Audubon will lead a walk. Binoculars and I.D. books will be available for loan.

Registration: Required
Sun 23 Sep
Dragons & Damsels: (Adult Program)
Sunday, September 23, 2018 01:30 PM - 03:00 PM
Connetquot River State Park Preserve
(631) 581-1072

Join Lane and Joan Smith to discover the varieties, similarities and differences, as well as the sheer grace and beauty of damselflies and dragonflies.

Registration: Required
Tue 25 Sep
Tiny Tots: “Nature Discoveries”- Nocturnal Neighbors
Tuesday, September 25, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Connetquot River State Park Preserve
(631) 581-1072

Explore the natural world around us. These programs will connect children and their parents with nature through short walks, animal visitors, and crafts. Children ages 3-5.

Registration: Required
Sat 29 Sep
Woodland Surprise: (Family Program)
Saturday, September 29, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM
Connetquot River State Park Preserve
(631) 581-1072

Enjoy ‘Get Outdoors Week' while exploring the forest. Discover all the little things that make it special. It might surprise you!

Registration: Required