Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation

Press Release

February 13, 2014

Randy Simons
Dan Keefe
(518) 486-1868

State Parks Invites Public to Attend a New York Safe Boating Course

Completion of class qualifies for safe boating certification

The New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation's Marine Services Bureau invites all interested members of the public to attend a boating safety class this February, conveniently scheduled during the time many of the state's students are on their mid-winter break from school.

This comprehensive boating course, which has been approved by the National Association of Boating Law Administrators, is scheduled over two days and is designed to teach the fundamentals of safe boating operation. Participants who attend both days will qualify to receive a New York Safe Boating Certificate.

In New York, those who must hold a boating safety certificate include:

  • Motorboat operators born on or after May 1, 1996, as per the new mandatory Motorboat Education Law.
  • All operators of a personal watercraft who are at least 14 years of age.

Participants must be at least 10 years of age to take the course. There is no cost for the class, but a $10 fee for participants 18 and older will be required for a permanent certificate. Additional fees apply to take advantage of the new New York Adventure License designation on your NYS Driver License, Non-Driver ID or Learner Permit.

The course will run during February school break on Tuesday, February 18 from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. and Wednesday, February 19 from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. It will be offered at 625 Broadway, Albany NY 12238. If interested, participants must pre-register by calling (518) 474-0445. Seating is limited.

For those interested but located outside of the Capital Region, courses are available throughout the state. The course listing is updated regularly on

The New York Adventure License allows outdoor enthusiasts, boaters, anglers or hunters, to consolidate their recreation licenses and benefits onto their NY State Driver's License. Learn more about this new convenience and options that provide a lifetime of access and fun in New York State. Visit the NY State E-License Center

The New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation oversees 179 state parks and 35 historic sites. For more information on any of these recreation areas, visitors can call 518.474.0456, visit, connect on Facebook, or follow on Twitter.