Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation

Event Search Results

Skip Navigation LinksHome / Events / Search Results
13 events matched your search
Wed 17 Jul
Animal Walks- Creek Critters
Wednesday, July 17, 2019 10:00 AM
Letchworth State Park
(585) 493-3600

Become more familiar with the thousands of local animals. Focus on the myriad of animals that use fresh water streams. (3 hours, bring a lunch).

Meet at Parade Grounds parking lot. Wear clothing you do not mind getting soiled and wet. Bring a lunch.

Sat 20 Jul
Teddy Bear Family Picnic
Saturday, July 20, 2019 10:00 AM - 01:00 PM
Letchworth State Park
(585) 493-3600

Featuring a teddy bear parade, story time, crafts, games and raptor exhibit from Wild Wings, Inc. Entertainment will include Tea Kettle Music Company, Mr. Scribbles and Perry Ground, a Native American story teller. Bring your favorite teddy bear/stuffed animal and your favorite picnic lunch. Sponsored by the Friends of Letchworth State Park.

Meet at Trailside Lodge

Sun 21 Jul
Nature Up Close: Fern Workshop at Humphrey Nature Center
Sunday, July 21, 2019 02:00 PM
Letchworth State Park
(585) 493-3600

Study the structure and form of dozens of ferns and their allies. Dried specimens will be available to contrast and compare their features. This is an excellent primer for Fern Walks on August 9 & 16.

Sat 27 Jul
Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra Concert at Archery Field
Saturday, July 27, 2019 02:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Letchworth State Park
(585) 493-3600

The BPO conducted by Jo Ann Falletta will perform classical and pop favorites at 8 pm culminating with a GRAND FIREWORK display over the gorge at 9:30 pm. Bring blankets and chairs to spend a glorious, one-of-a-kind evening. Daytime events also feature food and beverage vendors, Plein Air artists in collaboration with the Arts Council of Wyoming County and vignette performances by "Shake On The Lake"

Sat 03 Aug
CCC Recognition Day
Saturday, August 3, 2019 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
Letchworth State Park
(585) 493-3600

Join Interpretive hikes to various Civilian Conservation Corps sites within Letchworth and learn of the CCC's contribution to the development of the Park. Meet with Friends of Letchworth – learn about CCC rehab projects. Octagon Shelter (Lower Falls area, past Cabin Area "B"). Call 585-493-3637 for details. Sponsored by the Friends of Letchworth State Park.

Sun 11 Aug
"Dam" Good Trail Race
Sunday, August 11, 2019
Letchworth State Park
(585) 493-3600

A 20k off-road running race along the Letchworth Branch of the Finger Lakes Trail beginning and ending at the Mount Morris Dam and Recreation Area. For details visit: www.roadsarepoison.com

Registration: Required
Thu 15 Aug
Animal Walks- Insect Safari
Thursday, August 15, 2019 01:00 PM
Letchworth State Park
(585) 493-3600

Become more familiar with the thousands of local animals. Focus on insects and spiders.

Meet at Mt. Morris Dam Snack bar parking lot.

Sun 18 Aug
Nature Up Close: Aster and Goldenrod Workshop at Humphrey Nature Center
Sunday, August 18, 2019 02:00 PM
Letchworth State Park
(585) 493-3600

The waning summer provides a fine assortment of fall flowers including dozens of native asters and goldenrods. More than a dozen dried species will be available to contrast and compare the features of these diverse daisies.

Fri 23 Aug
Stone Tool Craftsman Show
Friday, August 23, 2019 until Sunday, August 25, 2019 10:00 AM - 06:00 PM
Letchworth State Park
(585) 493-3600

Featuring Flintknapping (tool-making demonstrations and vendors), Living History in the 19th Century Mountain Men Encampment. Additionally, the Eastern Seaboard Atlatl Competition. Atlatl (spear-throwing) activities begin on Thursday, August 22. The Park is also hosting the 33rd annual meeting of the World Atlatl Association this year.

Sun 01 Sep
Summer Farewell Festival
Sunday, September 1, 2019 03:00 PM
Letchworth State Park
(585) 493-3600

Meet at Highbanks Recreation Area. Country Musical performances, petting zoo & pony rides, comedy and variety acts, family activities & food and great firework show.

Sat 07 Sep
24th Annual Glen Iris 5K Run
Saturday, September 7, 2019 10:00 AM
Letchworth State Park
(585) 493-3600

Run benefiting the Cordelia A. Greene Library in Castile, NY. Prizes and food for participants. Visit www.glenirisinn.com, or call 585-493-2622 for details.

Registration: Required
Tue 10 Sep
Animal Walks- Visit a Beaver Pond
Tuesday, September 10, 2019 05:00 PM
Letchworth State Park
(585) 493-3600

Become more familiar with the thousands of local animals . Focus on the habitat created by beavers. Brush and mud.

Meet at Parade Grounds parking lot. Bring a supper (3 hours, 1 mile-brush and mud)

Sat 21 Sep
Native American & Pioneer Heritage Day
Saturday, September 21, 2019 10:00 AM
Letchworth State Park
(585) 493-3600

Watch Native American Dancers perform traditional dances and learn about their cultural significance. The day's events will include craft demonstrations, as well as a variety of demonstrations related to Native American and pioneer life. Small Game Target Atlatl Competition. The Atlatl (spear-throwing) activities are also on Friday and Sunday [contact Douglas Bassett, (585) 493-3625, for more information].