Any snowmobile operated in New York State must be registered with the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), even if it is registered in another state or province, except under certain special circumstances. Registration is done at the time of sale by the dealer. A snowmobile obtained in a private sale or from an out-of-state source may be registered by the new owner at any Motor Vehicle office or by a dealer participating in the state's prepaid registration program.
The cost to register a snowmobile in New York State is $100.00. This applies to original registrations and renewal registrations regardless of whether the snowmobile is registered by a resident or a non-resident of the state. If, at the time of registration an individual provides proof that they are a member of an organized snowmobile club or Trail Maintenance Entity (TME) that is a member of the New York State Snowmobile Association (NYSSA – please add link to NYSSA again), the cost to register a snowmobile is $45.00. This applies to original registrations and renewals regardless of whether the individual is a resident or non-resident of New York State.
Pursuant to section 21.07 of the Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation Law, $90.00* of the $100.00 registration cost or $35.00* of the $45.00 registration cost for a member of a NYSSA affiliated snowmobile club or TME shall be a fee that is collected for the snowmobile trail development and maintenance fund. The other $10 represents is deposited into the New York State General Fund.
In the event that an individual seeking snowmobile club membership is unable, for any reason, to secure such club membership, he or she may contact NYSSA who shall secure such membership for such person.
*Effective October 1, 2016 the amount of each $100.00 or $45.00 registration fee deposited into the Snowmobile Trail Development and Maintenance Fund will increase to $95.00 and $40 respectively.
Snowmobilers must carry registration and proof of insurance documents on their person at all times while snowmobiling. These documents must be produced at the request of any law enforcement officer or magistrate. Insurance documentation must be produced at the request of anyone who is injured or suffers property damage as a result of operation of a snowmobile.
Holders of snowmobile safety certificates must carry the certificate when they are snowmobiling.
These documents should always be carried on your person and never left in the snowmobile.
How to Register your snowmobile.